CSTA Classroom Science

In CASE You Missed It (September 2022)

Fall is in the air, the school year has officially begun, and CASE is hard at work preparing for the California Science Education Conference. If you’ve been busy this season, we’ll fill you in on what you missed.

Networking for Science is back!
On Wednesday, September 21, we kicked off our first Networking for Science event of the school year! This virtual networking event is where TOSA’s, administrators, site and district leaders, and other types of leaders in the science education community, can come together to share ideas, discuss problem-solving for issues within their district/school, and meet like-minded individuals. Our next session is October 26. 

California Science Education Conference
With our conference taking place in Palm Springs from October 14-16, there’s SO much going on behind the scenes at CASE. The CASE staff and conference committee are working to ensure that our first in-person conference since 2019 will be an amazing experience for all. 

There will be something for everyone at this conference. From hundreds of workshop sessions for a variety of grade levels and topics, an awesome focus speaker lineup, in-depth short courses, two great keynotes and the return of our renowned pool party, the 2022 conference will be one you’ll remember for a long time! For science leaders, we also have a pre-conference day on October 13. You can register for our conference here.

Award Winners
Congratulations to the 2022 CASE Award Winners! We have awards for educators and science education advocates of all types, and this year, we added a new award, Science Teacher of the Year, to recognize an outstanding science teacher at each grade level. The award winners will be recognized at this year’s conference. 

  • Jessica Sawko Teacher Leadership: Eric Scott Lewis
  • Administrator Leadership: Douglas Corbin
  • Future Science Teacher: Norman Alvaraz and Samantha Abarca
  • Margaret Nicholson Distinguished Service: Marian Murphy-Shaw
  • Distinguished Contribution: The Education Trust - West and The California Partnership for Math and Science Education
  • Legislator of the Year: Assemblymember Blanca Rubio
  • Science Teacher of the Year (Upper Elementary): Claudia Razo and Jacqueline Lafitte
  • Science Teacher of the Year (Middle/Jr. High School): Angelica Gunderson
  • Science Teacher of the Year (High School): Samantha Johnson
  • Science Teacher of the Year (Post-Secondary) Alan Colburn



Save | Print | Email Article

Print Friendly and PDF

Related Articles

From time to time CASE receives contributions from guest contributors. The opinions and views expressed by these contributors are not necessarily those of CASE. By publishing these articles CASE does not make any endorsements or statements of support of the author or their contribution, either explicit or implicit. All links to outside sources are subject to CASE’s Disclaimer Policy.